What is the Niue Country Code?
What is the Niue Country Code?

What is the Niue Country Code?

© NiuePocketGuide.com

The Dialling Code for Niue

Do you need to make a phone call to Niue? You’ll need to dial the correct country code (or dialling code). Find out the Niue country code in this article, as well as a few more tips for calling Niue from overseas.

For advice on making calls within Niue, take a look at What are the Niue Phone Networks? And if you need access to the internet, see Where to Get WiFi in Niue.

Niue Country Code: +683

The country dialling code for Niue is +683

What is the Niue Country Code?© Pexels

How to Use an International Dialling Code to Call Niue

If calling a Niue phone number from overseas, dial the country code “+683” before the phone number you are trying to reach. For example, if you’re trying to reach 1234, you will need to dial “+683 1234”.

Alternatively, you can use the International Call Prefix, which is “00” instead of the “+”. So to call 1234 from overseas, dial “00 683 1234”.

Note that Niuean phone numbers are typically four digits long.

What is the Niue Country Code?© Pexels

Things to Remember When Calling Niue

Calling over the phone is a popular way for people to communicate in Niue. When calling from overseas, however, there are a few extra tips that might be useful.

Time Zone

The time zone in Niue is UTC/GMT 11. With that, the time and even the day of the week that you are calling Niue is likely to be different from where you’re calling from.

As an example of the time differences between Alofi (the capital) and other cities across the world, when it is 9am in Niue, it is:

  • 9pm in London same day
  • 10pm in Frankfurt same day
  • 4pm in New York same day
  • 1pm in Los Angeles same day
  • 5am in Tokyo following day
  • 8am in Auckland following day
  • 6am in Sydney following day

Niue Doesn’t Operate on a Sunday

Another thing to keep in mind is that many businesses are closed on a Sunday in Niue. So if no one picks up the phone on a Sunday (Niue time) then you’ll know why.

There’s No International Roaming

You won’t need to worry about using the country code from your phone once you’re in Niue because, well, there’s no international roaming. In other words, your phone on its current overseas network will not work in Niue. Find out more about how to make calls in Niue in the article, What are the Niue Phone Networks?

What is the Niue Country Code?© Pexels

Finally, the Internet TLD for Niue

And finally, if you were looking for the internet TLD country code for Niue, it’s “.nu“.

An internet TLD stands for “internet top-level domain”. A ccTLD (country code top-level domain) is a TLD reserved for a country. In the case of Niue, the ccTLD is “.nu”, for example, “website.nu”.

Author

Robin C.

This article was reviewed and published by Robin, the co-founder of Niue Pocket Guide. He has lived, worked and travelled across 16 different countries before settling in the South Pacific, so he knows a thing or two about planning the perfect trip in this corner of the world. He is also consulting regularly with Niue Tourism to ensure content accuracy. Robin is also the co-founder of several other South Pacific travel guides and is a regular host of webinars with the South Pacific Tourism Organisation.

Was this article useful?

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter

Recommended For You